Michigan OWVI - DUI Lawyers
Need a Experienced Michigan OWVI - DUI Lawyer?
Our attorneys specialize in defending OWVI cases throughout Southeast Michigan; and have obtained outstanding results for our clients.
If you have been charged with a OWVI / DUI offense, contact us today for a free consultation with an experienced OWVI attorney.
PBT / Breathalyzer Refusal:
Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) refusal or a BAC Datamaster refusal is a distinct law and the penalties greatly differ regarding the two.
The facts involving both are:
Preliminary Breath Test (PBT)
A Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) is a handheld device which is used to determine whether alcohol was involved from a breath sample; the test is offered by the police officer and is performed at the vehicle. The refusal to take a PBT is much less significant then the BAC Datamaster refusal. The refusal of a preliminary breath test is only a civil infraction and does not involve any separate criminal charges; and does not involve any loss of drivers license. Refusing a PBT is a civil infraction and may involve a fine up to $150. The penalties for someone under the age of 21 who refuses a PBT involve having 2 points added to their driving record.
BAC Datamaster Test Refusal:
The Datamaster refusal is much more significant. The datamaster involves a machine used to take chemical test that determines your bodily alcohol content (BAC); the test is performed at the police station. The Michigan’s Implied Consent Law considers that all drivers have given their consent to the BAC Datamaster Test. A conviction for a datamaster refusal is separate and distinct from the OWI charge. Penalties involve six points added to drivers’ record; a one year suspension of your driver’s licenses for first time refusal; a two year suspension of your driver’s license for refusing a 2nd time.
If you have been charged with a BAC Datamaster refusal, time is of the essence. The police officer will provide you with a document advising you of your rights; on the back of the document all the necessary information, as well as a place for you to sign your name and request a hearing with the Secretary of State. You have 14 days to request an administrative hearing to challenge the alleged refusal. The request for an administrative hearing must be sent in writing to the Secretary of State at the following address:
THE SECRETARY OF STATE
DRIVER’S LICENSE APPEAL DIVISION
P.O. BOX 30196
LANSING, MI 48909-7696
At the hearing it will be determined whether the police officer had probable cause for the initial stop; whether the officer read you your chemical breath rights; whether the officer had probable cause for the arrest; and whether your refusal was reasonable. If you are unsuccessful at this hearing, you can then appeal to the Circuit Court in front of the Circuit Court Judge; the Judge can either restore your driver’s license or give you a restricted license.Our attorneys at Criminal Legal Services specialize in allowing our clients to keep their license. One of our attorneys will go with you and represent you during the Secretary of State hearing; giving you a chance to present your side of the story as well as cross examine the testifying officer. Our attorneys will also handle your entire appeal to the Circuit Court. Obviously, losing your license can be devastating; you need the best of the best to ensure that does not happen to you.
For more information or to get your questions answered, contact us today for a free consultation with an experienced attorney who will assist you throughout the entire process.
Give us a call at 586-303-2211 to schedule a free consultation.